Losing with Dignity

28 Oct

As most of you know from reading previous posts, I have an extreme disdain for football. I think the sport is unnecessarily long and I have a serious problem with my college being associated with this sport over academics. <End of Rant> However, there are few moments when you are being forced to watch a game because everyone else in the room wants to watch it even though most of them are socializing and not even paying attention to the screen that you get to see a heartwarming moment occur. Yesterday, I witnessed one of these moments.

No, I’m not talking about how close to beating South Carolina that UT was (look at them losing respectfully. You go, UT!). During this game a better representation of how football should be played occurred in the second quarter. As I’m sure all of you have heard from either witnessing or reading a post about it, South Carolina running back, Marcus Lattimore, suffered a horrible injury to his knee due to a helmet crushing into it during a tackle. What happened after this play was what resonated with me most.

In spite of an SEC rivalry, Tennessee players swarmed the field to pay their respects to the severely injured player. In spite of all the trash-talking and fights that usually break out at most football games, these players and fans actually showed a little dignity. Never have I showed any semblance of emotion while watching a football game, but when Lattimore left the field crying, I almost broke down with him (don’t judge me). The sportsman-like conduct that was portrayed at this moment was one that should be witnessed by all sports fans alike. Yes, it sucks that UT lost (I could really care less) but I think Vol fans should be proud of the attitudes displayed during the game (and that we only lost by a field goal).

I may loathe every aspect of football, but I can respect a good game. While it wasn’t my decision to watch the game to begin with, I am glad I did. UT’s record may be 3-5, but at least we know how to lose with class.

For those of you living under a rock, here is a clip of the Lattimore injury:

Leave a Reply

Joe Wadlington

the definitive voice on emotional eating

AdPerspective

"Maybe the best ads are just answers."

Taming of the Drew

"I want freedom for the full expression of my personality."- Mahatma Ghandi

Techno Taco

Dishing out tech news, app reviews, and more.

The Busy Busby

A Swarm of Media Content

